Upgrade a Bitbucket cluster manually without downtime

このページの内容

お困りですか?

アトラシアン コミュニティをご利用ください。

コミュニティに質問

This document provides step-by-step instructions on how to perform a rolling upgrade on deployments with little or no automation. These instructions are also suitable for deployments based on our Azure templates.

tip/resting Created with Sketch.

For an overview of rolling upgrades (including planning and preparation information), see Upgrade Bitbucket without downtime.

このページの内容

ステップ 1: アップグレード ファイルをダウンロードする

Before you start the upgrade, download the right Bitbucket version first. You'll be installing this on each node. Remember, you can only upgrade to a higher bug fix version (for example, from Bitbucket 7.9.0 to 7.9.4). Download the file directly from here:

https://www.atlassian.com/software/bitbucket/download

Alternatively, you can also use the Pre-upgrade planning tool to help you download a compatible bug fix version. Choose   > Administration > Plan your upgrade to open the tool.

ステップ 2 - アップグレード モードの有効化

  1. Go to  > Administration > Rolling upgrades.
  2. Select the Upgrade mode toggle (1).

Enabling upgrade mode allows your cluster to accept nodes running a later bug fix version. This lets you upgrade one node and let it rejoin the cluster (along with the other non-upgraded nodes). Both upgraded and non-upgraded active nodes work together in keeping Bitbucket available to all users.

You can disable Upgrade mode as long as you haven’t upgraded any nodes yet.

ステップ 3: 1 つ目のノードをアップグレードする

For most environments, upgrading a node during a rolling upgrade consists of four phases:

Disconnecting the node from the load balancer
tip/resting Created with Sketch.

最も負荷のノードから開始する

We recommend that you start upgrading the node with the least number of running tasks and active users. This will typically be the node with the lowest amount of CPU usage. 

When you disconnect a node from the load balancer, user requests will no longer be routed to the node. The following table provides guidance how to do so for popular load balancers:

NGINX

NGINX defines groups of cluster nodes through the upstream directive . To prevent the load balancer from connecting to a node, delete the node's entry from its corresponding upstream group. Learn more about the upstream directive in the ngx_http_upstream_module module

HAProxy

HAProxy で、ノードへのトラフィックをすべて無効にするには、maint 状態にします。

set server <node IP or hostname> state maint

Learn more about forcing a server's administrative state

apache

You can disable a node (or "worker") by setting its activation member attribute to disabled. Learn more about advanced load balancer worker properties in Apache

Azure アプリケーション ゲートウェイ

We provide a deployment template for Bitbucket Data Center on Azure; this template uses the Azure Application Gateway as its load balancer. The Azure Application Gateway defines each node as a target within a backend pool. Use the Edit backend pool interface to remove your node's corresponding entry. Learn more about adding (and removing) targets from a backend pool

Shutting down Bitbucket gracefully on the node

With upgrade mode enabled, you can now upgrade your first node. Start by shutting down Bitbucket gracefully on the node:

  1. コマンド ラインまたは SSH からノードにアクセスします。

  2. Shut down Bitbucket gracefully on the node. This will provide Bitbucket with some time to finish all of its tasks first before going offline. If you installed Bitbucket manually, run the bin/stop-bitbucket.sh script to gracefully shut down Bitbucket. Learn more about gracefully shutting down Bitbucket

  3. ノードがオフラインになるまで待ちます。[ローリング アップグレード] ページの [クラスタ概要] セクションの [ノード ステータス] 列でステータスを監視できます。

Extracting the downloaded files into a new directory

Once the node’s status is offline, you can start upgrading the node. Copy the Bitbucket files you downloaded (from Step 1: Download upgrade files section) to the node’s local file system:

1 つ目のノードをアップグレードするには:

  1. ディレクトリ(新しいインストールディレクトリ。既存のインストール ディレクトリとは異なる必要があります)にファイルを抽出(解凍)する

  2. Update the value of BITBUCKET_HOME in the <Installation-directory>/bin/set-bitbucket-home.sh file so the new Bitbucket installation points to your existing Bitbucket home directory.

    If you use a BITBUCKET_HOME environment variable to specify the home directory location, no change is required

  3. Copy any other immediately required customizations from the old version to the new one (for example if you are not running Bitbucket on the default ports or if you manage users externally, you'll need to update / copy the relevant files)

    If you configured Bitbucket to run as a Linux service, don't forget to update its service configuration as well. Learn more about running Bitbucket as a Linux service.

  4. Start Bitbucket on the node. Learn more about starting Bitbucket

Reconnecting the node to the load balancer

After Bitbucket starts successfully on the node, reconnect it to the load balancer. This will allow the node to rejoin the cluster. Wait for it to show up in the Cluster overview with an Active status. As soon as the first upgraded node joins the cluster, your cluster status will transition to Mixed. This means that you won’t be able to disable Upgrade mode until all nodes are running the same version.

Step 4: Upgrade all other nodes individually

After starting the upgraded node, wait for it to show up on the Cluster overview with an Active status. When it does, you can start upgrading another node using the instructions from the previous step. Do this for each remaining node – as always, we recommend that you upgrade the node with the lowest level of CPU activity.

Step 5: Finalize the upgrade

Once all nodes are Active and running the same upgraded version, the Finalize upgrade button will become enabled. Click this to complete the rolling upgrade.

After completing the rolling upgrade, you should:


トラブルシューティング

ローリング アップグレード中のノード エラー

If a node’s status transitions to Error, it means something went wrong during the upgrade. You can’t finish the rolling upgrade if any node has an Error status. However, you can still disable Upgrade mode as long as the cluster status is still Ready to upgrade.

対処方法はいくつかあります。

  • Shut down Bitbucket gracefully on the node. This should disconnect the node from the cluster, allowing the node to transition to an Offline status.

  • If you can’t shut down Bitbucket gracefully, shut down the node altogether.

すべてのアクティブ ノードがアップグレードされたら、ローリング アップグレードを完了できます。問題のあるノードの問題を後で調査し、エラーに対処したら、クラスタに再接続できます。

Disabling upgrade mode

You can disable Upgrade mode as long as all nodes in the cluster:
  • まだアップグレードされていない
  • エラー状態になっている

アップグレードされたノードがクラスタに参加するか、ノードがエラー状態になると、クラスタのステータスは Mixed に変わります。 

アップグレード モードが無効になっている Mixed ステータス

アップグレード モードが無効のノードが Error 状態の場合、アップグレード モードを有効にすることはできません。問題を修正するか、クラスタからノードを削除して、アップグレード モードを有効にします。 

Rolling back to the original version

To roll back upgraded nodes to their original version:

  1. コマンド ラインまたは SSH からノードにアクセスします。

  2. Shut down Bitbucket gracefully on the node. 

  3. ノードがオフラインになるまで待ちます。[ローリング アップグレード] ページの [クラスタ概要] セクションの [ノード ステータス] 列でステータスを監視できます。

  4. Start Bitbucket on the node from your old installation directory. You should not see the setup wizard.
  5. If you configured Bitbucket to run as a Linux service, don't forget to update its service configuration as well. Learn more about running Bitbucket as a Linux service.

Once all nodes are running the same version, the cluster’s status will revert back to Ready to upgrade. This will also allow you to disable Upgrade mode.

アップグレード中またはアップグレード後にトラフィックが不均一に分散しています

Some load balancers might use strategies that send a disproportionate amount of active users to a newly-upgraded node. When this happens, the node might become overloaded, slowing down Bitbucket for all users logged in to the node.

この問題に対処するには、ノードをクラスタから一時的に切断することもできます。これにより、ロード バランサーは、他のすべての利用可能なノード間でアクティブなユーザーを再分配します。その後、クラスタにノードを再度追加できます。


最終更新日 2021 年 4 月 6 日

この内容はお役に立ちましたか?

はい
いいえ
この記事についてのフィードバックを送信する
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.