Permissions in Portfolio for Jira
You need both global permission and user permission to perform tasks in Portfolio for Jira.
The permissions in Portfolio for Jira will take precedence over the global permissions that are set up in your Jira instance.
However, users with the Jira administrators global permission are automatically made administrators in Portfolio for Jira. These users have the ability to access any private plans. System administrators also have the ability to access any private plans.
You need to configure user permissions, to ensure that users have access to the correct plans and programs in Portfolio for Jira, as necessary.
Portfolio for Jira administrator
Users with this permission can perform all administrative functions in Portfolio for Jira, including accessing any private plans. By default, Jira Software administrators are automatically made administrators in Portfolio for Jira.
Portfolio for Jira user
Users with this permission can create plans and programs, and view the plans and programs they have access to. For plans they can access, they can also edit their issue sources, edit any issues in the plans, and then save these edited issue details in Jira Software. For programs they can access, they can also edit the name of the program, and the plans added to the program.
Note that this permission at both the program level and the plan level are independent of each other. This means that even if you can edit the 'Mobile expansion' program, you'll still need this permission to view and add the 'Beta' plan to that program.
Portfolio for Jira restricted user
Users with this permission can create plans and programs, and view the plans and programs they have access to. For plans they can access, they can also edit any issue details. However, they cannot save these changes in Jira Software.
Portfolio for Jira viewer
Users with this permission can browse and view plans in read-only mode. In Jira Software, they can also update parent links, teams, and target dates of issues.
Note that this permission at both the program level and the plan level are independent of each other. This means that even if you can view the 'Mobile expansion' program, you still need this permission for a particular plan to view that plan in the 'Mobile expansion' program.
Portfolio for Jira early access
Users with this permission can view and enable the early access features of Portfolio for Jira. This lets users have early access to the new features that are still being worked on.
Portfolio for Jira shared team management
Users with this permission can access global team management and edit teams that are shared across plans.
The following plan permissions are available:
|権限の計画||View plan||Edit plan||Modify issues in plan||Delete plan|
|表示||(only for specific actions)||(only for specific actions)|
See Permissions for more details.
By default, all Portfolio for Jira users in your Jira application instance can view and edit a newly created program. However, as soon as view permissions (Portfolio for Jira viewer) or edit permissions (Portfolio for Jira user) for that program are assigned to any user, the program then becomes restricted to that specific user.
- If you don't have view permissions for a program, you won't be able to see that program in Portfolio for Jira.
- To add a plan to a program, you must have view permissions for that plan.
- If you can view a program, but you don't have view permissions for a plan, you won't see the plan or any issues from that plan in Portfolio for Jira.
The following table lists how user permissions work when you're performing specific actions involving plans and programs.
Actions when configuring a program (at the program level)
|権限の計画||Program permission||Add plan to program||View plan in program||Remove plan from program|
Note that Portfolio for Jira administrators are able to grant themselves the View and Edit permissions for plans and programs.