Comparing alpha and current versions

このページの内容

お困りですか?

アトラシアン コミュニティをご利用ください。

コミュニティに質問

This is the alpha version of Portfolio for Jira 3.0 — your sneak peek at the improved functionality that's just around the corner. As such, do note the following:

  • Some features may not be complete just yet, as we're continuously iterating on these.
  • Because it's an alpha version, the documentation will only be visible to you, our alpha users. You will not find any alpha pages in the usual page sidebar.

We've linked the table of contents below, so you can easily navigate to the alpha pages at any time.

The following table lists the important differences between 3.0 alpha plans and 2.0 plans.

タスクDifferences
プランの設定

We can only configure the estimation and issue sources being used in 3.0 plans.

We're also using the following settings from 2.0 plans as default:

Working hours and days

  • Region: System default
  • Work day: 8 hours
  • Work week: Monday through Friday

権限

At the moment, 3.0 plans that are read-only do not have any visual indication that users are not able to make any changes in the plan. It's only when a user tries to make a change that they're notified that they don't have the necessary permissions.

To let the user make changes to a 3.0 plan, you'll need to change the permissions of the user.

  1. Click  > Configure > Alpha experience > Disable alpha.
  2. Configure the plan permissions for the user, as needed.
  3. Enable alpha for the 2.0 plan.

Scenarios

  • As mentioned in the limitations of alpha plans, we're still working on how to support multiple scenarios.
  • As default, in the case where a 2.0 plan has been converted to a 3.0 plan, the current scenario will be used in the context of planning. There's no way to switch to any alternative scenarios that may have been set up from before the conversion.

Commit of changes

This is disabled because individual team members are no longer available in 3.0 plans.

Viewing issues in a plan

Portfolio for Jira 2.0

In 2.0 plans, issues are displayed in a timeline at the top of the plan, with the work items of your teams displayed in a scope table at the bottom.

Portfolio for Jira 3.0 alpha

In 3.0 alpha plans, you still have the scope table in fairly the same position in the plan, but we now call this the scope section.

However, we've moved the timeline to the right of the scope section, and each issue has its corresponding schedule block. The schedule blocks are displayed in the timeline, according to how these are scheduled.

Creating issues

In 2.0 plans, there are several ways to create issues, and some of these ways are not directly obvious to users.

In 3.0 alpha plans, we're redesigning how you can create issues, making these more obvious and more intuitive:

  • You can create an issue from the top of the scope section. When you're doing this, you can specify the hierarchy level for the issue, as well as the project to associate it with.
  • You can also hover over an issue at any hierarchy level, and create a child issue for it. The new issue will inherit the same project by default.

See Planning work for more details.

Assigning issues
  • Though we do have team members in the team capacity view, you now assign issues to assignees, and not team members anymore.
  • You can assign an issue to only one assignee.

Scheduling issues

In 2.0 plans, you need to use the calculate functionality, to interact with the timeline itself. When you calculate your plan, Portfolio calculates the realistic scheduled start and scheduled end dates of the issues, and then creates a realistic schedule of the issues.

In 3.0 alpha plans, we're simplifying the experience by using only one type of date — target dates, We're also letting you interact with the timeline itself to schedule issues. You can now manually drag and drop issues directly in the timeline, according to how you want to schedule these issues.

You can also choose to make Portfolio optimize your plan for you and create a schedule of your work. But it's up to you to decide whether or not you'll accept the optimized changes made by Portfolio.

See Scheduling work for more details.

In 2.0 plans, you can use the scheduling factors section, to understand how issues are scheduled off your backlog, as well as why some issues aren't scheduled as expected.

In 3.0 plans, this section isn't available anymore. If an issue is not scheduled as expected, you can manually reschedule the issue straight away.

Ranking issues

In 2.0 plans, when you rank and epic with child issues higher, the ranking of its child issues will also be higher. When these changes are committed to Jira, the child issues will also be ranked higher in Jira.

This can be confusing, especially if your teams have already ranked issues in their backlogs or active sprints, and the child issues are suddenly ranked higher.

In 3.0 plans, the ranking of child issues is now independent of the ranking of their parent issues. If you rank a parent epic higher, the ranking of its child issues in Jira will stay as is.

Calculating progress

In 2.0 plans, progress is calculated by the percentage of the estimates completed against the total estimates.

In 3.0 plans, we now display progress more visually — in a status breakdown bar, which displays issues grouped by status category:

  • blue, for issues that are still to do
  • yellow, for issues in progress
  • green, for issues that are already done

Saving changes in Jira

Across 2.0 and 3.0 plans, you can choose which changes you want to save in Jira, and which ones you want to discard.

In 3.0 plans though, these changes include any manual changes you make in your plan, as well as the optimized changes that you have accepted in your plan. You can review the changes, and then select which changes to save in Jira. See Saving changes in Jira for more details.

At the moment, you cannot save any changes involving teams and releases in the new 'Review changes' dialog in 3.0 plans.

You'll need to save these changes via the 'Review and commit changes' dialog from 2.0 plans. See Saving changes in Jira to know more.

Zooming in and out of the work in your timeline

In 3.0 plans, you can quickly see issues for a set timeframe, like 3 months, 1 year, or even a custom date range. This lets you focus on only the issues scheduled within the selected timeframe.

You can also do this in 2.0 plans; however, you'd need to use the scheduled range filter — and this method wasn't too obvious to use.

Managing teams

There are no functionality differences between 2.0 and 3.0 plans yet, when it comes to managing teams. The only difference is how you access the 'team management' page in 3.0 plans.

In 2.0 plans, you can manage teams by clicking the Teams view, at the top-right area of your plan. In 3.0 plans, team management is accessed via the Team capacity tab above the scope table.

We're currently iterating on how teams are managed in 3.0 plans, so stay tuned.

Managing capacity

In 2.0 plans, individual capacity planning is available.

In 3.0 plans, we're still considering how capacity is best managed. We're starting with the following details:

  • Individual capacity planning is replaced by team capacity planning.
  • When optimizing a plan, Portfolio for Jira will consider the total capacity of a team to complete the work being scheduled.
  • For Portfolio for Jira to do this, you must directly set team capacity in your plan.

リリースを管理する

  • In 2.0 plans, you can manage releases by clicking the Releases view, at the top-right section of your plan.
  • In 3.0 plans, release management is accessed via the Releases tab above the scope table.
  • We're still iterating on how releases are managed in 3.0 plans. This is why in 3.0 plans, the dynamic optimized dates of releases won't be visible as of yet.
最終更新日 2018 年 9 月 26 日

この内容はお役に立ちましたか?

はい
いいえ
この記事についてのフィードバックを送信する
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.