Saving changes in Jira

If you're using the improved planning interface (3.0 and later), this page is for you. If you're using live plans (2.0 to 2.27), head to Portfolio for Jira live plans.

Portfolio for Jira lets you make changes in your plan in a sandbox environment. While you're trying to create the ideal schedule for your team, you can make any changes and move issues around, without having to worry about how these changes impact the work of your teams in Jira.

As a best practice, we recommend that you review and save your changes in Jira as often as possible. This gives your teams access to the latest updates you've made for the work that they're doing.

Saving changes

To review the changes made in your plan, you'll need at least the Portfolio for Jira viewer permission. To save these changes in Jira, you'll need the Portfolio for Jira user permission. See Permissions in Portfolio for Jira for more details.

In the roadmap view of your plan, above the timeline section, click Review changes. The 'Review changes' dialog will display, with all changes selected by default.

While reviewing your changes, do the following as needed:

  • Filter changes made by yourself and others in the plan, by using the Change by menu in the top left side of the dialog.
  • View multiple changes by expanding the item in the What changed column.
  • Select the checkboxes of the changes you want to save in Jira, then click Save selected changes in Jira. All checkboxes are selected by default. Those that you deselect won't be saved in Jira, but will remain in your plan.
  • Select the checkboxes of the changes you want to remove from your plan, then click Discard selected changes. These changes will be discarded from your plan and the values will revert to those currently saved in Jira.
  • If you encounter any warnings when saving changes to Jira, we recommend fixing these first, then try saving the corresponding changes again. See Troubleshooting for commonly encountered issues.

tip/resting Created with Sketch.

You can stop Portfolio for Jira from saving changes in Jira by clicking Quit. Portfolio for Jira will save the change it's already worked on, but won't save remaining changes.


Troubleshooting when saving changes

Required custom fields in Jira issues

When you have required custom fields in your Jira issues, this may cause problems when you try to save some of the newly created issues in your plan. This is because Portfolio for Jira would not have the columns for the custom fields in the plan itself.

Do any of the following, as needed:

  • Make the custom fields in your Jira projects are no longer required.
  • If the required fields are really necessary, make sure to enter the details for the required fields in the dialog that will display.

Custom fields not supported for issues types or projects in plan

Sometimes, a custom field is not supported for the issue types or projects in the plan. If this is the case, and you set a value for this custom field in the plan, you may not be able to save this change in Jira. If you need this change to be saved in Jira, ask your Jira admin to make sure the issue type and project of the corresponding issue are supported. See  Configuring a custom field to learn more.

Child issues not saved to Jira

When you're creating a new parent issue and new child issues for it, the parent issue needs to be saved to Jira, so that the child issues will also be saved to Jira.

Let's say you've created the parent issue ABC-01, and the child issues TIS-001, TIS-002, and TIS-003.

If you were to select only TIS-002 and try to save that change to Jira, you won't be able to do this because its parent issue ABC-01 isn't saved to Jira.

最終更新日: 2019 年 9 月 21 日

この内容はお役に立ちましたか?

はい
いいえ
この記事についてのフィードバックを送信する
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.